Wemyss Bay owes its popularity as a resort to the arrival of the railway service from Glasgow in 1865, by which time a number of villas had been built there which were owned by wealthy Glasgow merchants, earning the area the name "Little Glasgow". The magnificent station, built by James Miller in 1903 and restored in the 1990s, stands as a fitting reminder of the railway heyday, with its curved glass and steel roof. Sadly, since the restoration the station has been somewhat neglected, prompting the founding of the Friends Of Wemyss Bay Station whose stated intent is to restore the building to its former glory. Aside from the train link there are ferries to Rothesay on the Isle of Bute, and the station incorporates the ferry terminal. The main feature of the bay itself is a red sandstone cliff, which incorporates the deep ravine of Kelly Burn. The Burn acts as a natural boundary between Wemyss Bay and neighbouring Skelmorlie, which has hotels, a golf course and a trout fishery open to visitors. Skelmorlie Castle, to the south of the village, is a 16th century tower house built over an earlier structure.
Map of the area.
©2011 Dave Souza, via Wikimedia Commons